Faculty of Medicine


The faculty of medicine – University of Health Sciences- UOHS, was established in 2014 in response to the shortage of the number of qualified physicians who can fulfill the existing health care needs in Somalia. The faculty offers bachelor of medicine and surgery (MBBS) which consists of five academic years of undergraduate program that offers solid foundation in the fundamentals of basic medical sciences and clinical skills training followed by one year of internship training.


The faculty of medicine of university of health sciences is dedicated to graduate skillful, ethical and competent physicians who are capable of providing excellent healthcare and conducting innovative scientific research, and ready for continuing professional development.


The vision of faculty of medicine of university of health sciences is to be a premier medical school in medical education, healthcare and research in Somalia, and to see our graduates leading the advancement of human health research.


  • Professionalism and ethics.
  • Excellence and integrity.
  • Collaboration and partnerships
  • Leadership and teamwork.
  • Respect and cultural sensitivity.
  • High quality in education, research and health services.
  • Social responsibility and accountability.


  1. Promote the understanding and application of Islamic principles and rules of medical ethics in all aspects of medical practice.
  2. Enable undergraduate medical students to acquire the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary to become competent professionals and to develop lifelong habits of scholarship and service.
  3. Produce medical doctors with originality and breadth of vision who will be leaders and innovators across all areas of medicine.
  4. Promote continuing medical professional development to maintain and improve the competency of physicians engaged in healthcare delivery.
  5. Conduct scientific researches on the health problems in Somalia, and provide improved management, prevention or control for these health problems.
  6. Serve as medical education resource center to related health professionals and to the community and organizations involved in healthcare delivery


The program is divided into two phases

  1. Pre-clinical Phase: (1st, 2nd, 3rd years) including teaching of basic medical sciences (Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Pathology, Microbiology, Pharmacology) and Community Medicine.
  2. Clinical Phase:comprises two years of academic clinical studies and clerkship education & training and one year of internship training.
  3. Clinical Studies & Clerkship (4th & 5th years): includes training in major clinical subjects (Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Obstetrics & gynecology, and Surgery) and other related minor subjects (Forensic Medicine, Radiology, ENT, Orthopedics, Psychiatry, ophthalmology and Dermatology) and community Medicine.
  4. Internship Training (6th year): Training in Hospitals.